Do you miss your childhood games?

Hey guys B3ast here,

I spent the whole weekend playing some of my old games from when I was a kid. I don’t know if you are all like me but playing old games  helps me blow off some steam. When I play these games I look at them and say this game was really fun as a kid. Some of these games were the reason I started gaming. Now lets dive right into these games. The games I played were on the Nintendo 64 and on the GameCube.

 

007 series 

goldeneye-007-n64-cover-front-eu-31401

Image brought to you by:http://ocremix.org/files/images/games/n64/0/goldeneye-007-n64-cover-front-eu-31401.jpg

I don’t know if I can speak for everyone but if you didn’t play this game as a kid there was something wrong with or you or you are too young to know what a Nintendo 64 is. This was Call of Duty back in the day, and I would spend hours playing this game with my siblings. It was in the top 5 for game of the year when it came out. This game would cause fights and make you rage so hard. It was so much fun playing this game with my siblings, but this is where the famous screen peaking came from. I am not gonna lie I did do some screen peaking but it’s not like I would watch with the intent to cheat, it would just be in my peripheral vision (err….something).

007_-_Nightfire_Coverart

Image brought to you by:https://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/en/8/82/007_-_Nightfire_Coverart.png

Then came Nightfire. This game was the next in the series, but this game was another James Bond game that made me fall in love with gaming. This game came out a year before the first Call of Duty came out, and was the same concept as Goldeneye where we would spend hours playing multiplayer with a twist, they added bots to the game. Now me and my siblings would be on the same team and be outnumbered while set to high difficulty and would try to hold out and win. Then Call of Duty came out and changed the way multiplayer operated for first person shooters. In my opinion I’ve had more fun playing these two games than I ever have playing Call of Duty.

 

Mario Series   

Super Mario Bros

Image brought to you by: http://static.independent.co.uk/s3fs-public/thumbnails/image/2014/09/19/16/Super%20Mario%20Bros.jpg

Mario was the game to play back in the day, if you didn’t play Mario you weren’t a “True Gamer”. These games set the standard for other games in its prime. I have only beat the original game all the way through once and without use of the warp tunnels. They have been getting out of control with Mario the past couple of years but right before they went with Mario in space Super Mario sunshine was the game to play on Gamecube.

mario

To this day this is only Mario game that I have played but never beat. I am working on it and hopefully here soon I’ll be able to beat the game. This game was really fun as it had a new twist on the standard Mario 64 and Mario bros. Instead of jumping on people and squishing them you just gave them a bath and called it a day.

 

Mario Kart

39949-Mario_Kart_64_(USA)-1

Image brought to you by: http://s.emuparadise.org/Nintendo%2064/Screenshots/Titles/Mario%20Kart%2064%20(U).png

I know what you are thinking with all the Mario games, and I’ll tell you Mario was the name that echoed the 90’s. Mario was everywhere in the video game world. Mario Kart was the game that allowed me to drive recklessly and it be okay.  This game had some real skill involved as you had to master boosting yourself at the beginning as well as acquiring the necessary skills to hold your lead and grabbing dodging power ups while dodging enemy assaults. The blue turtle shell was really annoying and made it hard to hold the lead.  The blue turtle shell really made the game series not playable, you would be in first and then the guy in last throws the blue turtle shell and suddenly you don’t have the lead any more.

Now these are just some of the games I played over the weekend to blow off some steam. These stopped me from raging and throwing my PC against the wall. Now I think I am going to start doing more of these posts, tell me what you all think of these in the comments below. Don’t just play the newest game all the time, expand, and play the old games every once in a while. That is why they are there. They will make you a better gamer in the end.

-B3ast

 

 

 

2 responses to “Do you miss your childhood games?

Leave a Reply

