Cosplay Corner: Eighth Edition

Hello, hello, and welcome to cosplay corner! This week I had the pleasure of meeting the adorable Acadia Rose; our featured cosplayer for the week. Acadia and I met through my job, and we actually live in the same city. She is a triple threat in the cosplay community: she models, shoots her own photography AND does her own editing. I’m in total awe of her skills, she is super talented; check out her FacebookInstagram and Etsy to see more of her work!

FirstLady: What got you interested in cosplay?

Acadia Rose: I have liked Japanese culture and anime since I was a little kid. I was always doing projects on Japan when I was little, and the first anime I watched was Inuyasha.

FirstLady: What is your favorite cosplay outfit?

Acadia Rose: Right now I have a ton of  school outfits (seifuku), and I wear them outside as my casual wear some days.

FirstLady: What advice would you give new cosplayers?

Acadia Rose: Make sure you know about the characters before dressing up. Be your favorite characters and have fun!

FirstLady: What is the hardest aspect about being a cosplayer?

Acadia Rose: For me, it’s that I don’t have a lot of time to make my own costumes, so I mostly purchase them on sale online, in thrift stores, and anywhere I can find cute pleated skirts and such things. I purchased two seifuku when I went to Japan a few months ago for only 500 yen, that is under $5! I’m always looking for deals, even with my regular clothing.

FirstLady: What are your hobbies/activities you enjoy to do in your spare time?

Acadia Rose: Besides watching a little anime and reading manga; I like to draw and make art, crafts, and I just started making my own comics, take and edit photos, roller blade, swim, play video games, I’m currently learning Japanese, I used to practice martial arts, I was the only girl in my high school wresting team for two years, and I organized a pet expo three times on my own. I’m kind of all over the place during my free time sometimes.

FirstLady: What do you do for a living?

Acadia Rose: I was a retail customer service representative. Right now I’m looking for an administrative assistant job, but I do some freelance photo editing and art on the side.

FirstLady: How old are you/what area do you live in?

Acadia Rose: I am 21 years old. Right now I live in Parma Heights Ohio, but I am originally from Worcester Massachusetts, and I moved around a lot as a kid. I’ve lived in California, Florida, Ohio, Massachusetts, and we took road trips around a lot when I was little. It wasn’t a very stable life, but it was kind of neat to get to start over and be the new mysterious person in school all the time.

FirstLady: Pick a quote that describes your personality.

Acadia Rose: I don’t know a lot of quotes, but a funny one for me would be something like, “You can’t be sad when you’re holding a strawberry cake, or a cute baby animal.” Ha-ha, I think sweet food and cute animals are my weaknesses.

Iki Hiyori from the show Noragami.

acadia 1

Kagome Higurashi from the show Inuyasha.

acadia 2

Fictional Sailor moon warrior from the show Sailor Moon.

acadia 3

A sketch of a cosplay outfit she wants to make.

acadia 4

Such cool cosplay; I’m glad I met Acadia so I could showcase some anime cosplay. I typically showcase video game cosplay, so this is a nice change. I love how delicate and feminine her cosplay is, so adorable! What are some of your favorite anime shows? I watched Inuyasha, Dragon Ball Z and Pokemon growing up, but I haven’t kept up with it since. After seeing Acadia Rose’s work, I think I’m going to get back into it! Remember to check out her FacebookInstagram and Etsy to see more of her work!

We always love your feedback, questions and comments! Playing a new video-game? Tell us about it! We are always looking for new games to play and review. Have a cosplayer that you really enjoy? Tell us, and we will contact them to feature on our page!

As always, GL and HF

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

