Portable Gaming Solutions, Lets Talk.

 

 

Hello and welcome to my newest article coming to you all the way from The Island of Crete of the beautiful country Greece. In this little discussion we talk about my solution to the age old question, can I bring my Xbox?

So lets talk about portable gaming, we all have our machines that do good at home. Unless you have a small setup in a mini ATX or ITX setup, then you may be fucked. I can always bring my Xbox or computer, but I am at the mercy of who ever’s house I’m at. I love the Blue Rocket to much to box her up and bring her overseas with me. One thing I looked at is a gaming laptop, but they can be upwards of $1000. For most of us that isn’t feasible with a price tag like that, here is my solution that I bought for my first deployment.

I present to you the Gaems Vanguard, with this system it holds my Xbox ONE, a controller all the cords and maybe a few game cases (I had them in a separate bag when I was traveling). With an HD 19″ monitor connected by HDMI and good speakers, or a headphone jack for Turtle Beach users like myself, this is one of the best solutions I can’t think of without dropping the money for a gaming laptop, this was also before I upgraded my laptop with more RAM and a bigger APU.

This solution can be expensive compared to some, when I bought this it was $350 but they do make smaller cheaper models. For the actual performance and durability of the unit I cant think of a better test than deployed military. My last deployment I went to Germany, Romania, Bahrain, Canada, and El Salvador. Through all these checkpoints, I never had a problem with customs, never had a scratch on it, and all I had to do was open it up and plug it in. This is a very good idea for those of us who travel and cant go to long without visiting out gaming world.

Now lets get to the drawbacks of a setup like this: it is fairly bulky for, but for what is offers its not a bad thing in my opinion. You need two plugs, I think it would be better if it plugged into the wall and had an extra plug on the actual unit, but for what it offers I cant complain to much, my final gripe about it is, the screen is pretty small for the size of it. my 17.5″ computer fits inside it no problem, so this is just for you. If you have friends that wants to play with you then you gotta borrow there TV or find one in the airport, but good luck on that one without getting tackled by airport security for suspicions of terrorism.

Here is the math on this one:

  • New Xbox ONE $350
  • New Gaems Vanguard $350

And the damage is $700 or you can get a gaming laptop, all I see on that one is the price tag, like the ASUS ROG G751JYDH71 with only 17 inches of screen, and a grand total of… $2400. You do the math here but if you have that kind of money for your portable gaming needs, you should buy me one too.

There is however a cheaper option for gaming laptops, I have recently purchased a cheaper gaming laptop that is actually more designed for video editing but hey it plays fall out. my new ASUS K501UX as part of there Zen-book Series, this is actually a pretty sweet laptop that i bought only for $850 on sale, after using this for a while and really using the absolute FUCK out of it i have found my new baby while on deployment. I myself am a big AMD APU fan but that laptop has gone kaput. This sweet little guy has:

  • Intel Core i7-6500U CPU. While only dual core it does support hyper threading so it makes it THINK it has a quad core.
  • 8gb of RAM, and now i have more on the way I hope to put a 16GB kit in it.
  • NVIDIA GEFORCE GTX 950M. Major selling point on this sucker.
  • As well as all the other usual things any laptop should come with: 1Gb Ethernet, 802.11/a/b/g/n wireless USB 3.0 compatibility, as well as HDMI 1.2 connectivity.

 

 

20160223_132855

 

20160321_103806

*All photos were taken by author!*

That’s it for me this time, if you guys have your own methods, or a better one that the one I have here let me know, once again this is Ud1eBy Qwik33,

Deuces.

Leave a Reply

