For the Red Team. AMD Zen and Polaris 10!!!

Hey guys Qwik33 here bringing something that i personally have been waiting for right after i bought my 980 TI. AMDs new Zen and Polaris 10 architecture is coming out soon and I for one am pumped. These Processors are slated to be released in the later part of this year, if any of you follow my articles as few and far between as they are, you all know I am a huge Team Red fan boy as far as the CPUS and APUs.

First off lets talk about the improvements:

AMD claims that the new Zen modeling with its 14 nm process will be 40% more efficient in the IPC and AMD will abandon the architecture of its previous chips in favor of a simultaneous multi-threading approach similar to Intel’s Hyper-Threading. All of this supposedly being able to double THE FX 8350. To me that sounds awesome, there was no hinting at price but a for an i7 6950 is about $1700 so I’m hoping it doesn’t cost anywhere near that. One of the reasons I love AMD in the CPU department is the price, I bought my FX 6300 for $130

With some change comes with alot more change, the new Zen chips will support DDR4 RAM YAAYYY!!!! Of course that means a new mother board and new socket. Say hello to the new AM4 socket. Fear not my friends for I do have good news since that’s about a $250 dollar upgrade to get an equivalent setup like i have in the Blue Rocket (32 GB 1600 Mhz RAM with a Gigabyte MoBo) once nice thing AMD will hang on to is legacy coolers for the AM3 and AM3+ sockets, so i can keep using my Corsair H100i v2 will still be compatible with the new chip. One extra tid bit for you guys on the CPU side, the A series is getting a bump in both speed and efficiency for the guys with FM2+ APUs like i had in my old laptop. I feel like a traitor for having an i7 in there but it was a hell of a deal with that 950m in there.

With all that i am super excited to have this when this all comes of but of course lets get on to the newest line of video cards which this one we have a name for. The RX 480, this guy looks just like a regular AMD card but oh my goodness its got some great specs. AMDs idea here is to bring VR to the main stream with variants with 4GB and 8GBs of VRAM. Not a huge gain in clock speed with a boost of 1080 Mhz but the kicker here is this card with yield a TDP of only 150 watts, any body who had owned an AMD card before knows that they are power hungry and hot, but this is coming form the guy with a 700 watt power supply and a 980 ti in my system but were not here to point fingers. All of this for a price of $199 which comes in cheaper that the newest cards from Nvidia. A nice middle finger from AMD we will see how this turns out.

Well that is all I have for you guys we here at Ud1eBy are big PC gamers especially with Over Watch having a huge impact on mine and B3asts social lives (just kidding that fucker is just as much of a hermit as I am). As always guys love you guys no shit and have a good one.

-Qwik33

Leave a Reply

